Waffles

I’m sort of a breakfast snob. It’s all my mom’s fault. She raised us on Sour Dough Pancakes, thin, light with just a hint of the sour dough tang, with huckleberries. None of that Bisquick three inch thick, “cake” type pancake for me. Sour Dough all the way. I didn’t know there were any other kind of pancakes until I left home and ventured into the world on my own.
Waffles, let’s talk about waffles. Light, crispy waffles, smeared with butter and syrup. . Light being the key word, Mom’s waffles were always made with beaten egg whites, which produce a delightful lightness and added crispness. . again none of this “just add water” stuff for me and certainly NO freezer waffles.

The thing is, making yummy pancakes and waffles takes time and organization. . . and planning ahead. Last week in the LA Times Food section there was a whole article on “Sunday Morning Waffles”. . my mouth was watering as I read about the Joy of Cooking 1957 edition Sour Cream Waffles and the Fannie Farmer Yeast Waffle recipe. . I was so relieved to find at the end of the article the recipes for both. Saturday night I pulled out my waffle making bowl (I have one thanks to Gina, It’s a butter yellow mixing bowl with a handle it’s a great bowl, but given to me specifically to make waffles with!) and mixed up the Yeast-Raised Waffle batter. I might have found my new favorite waffle recipe. . you mix up everything, let it sit overnight, wake up Sunday, plug in the waffle makers and light, crispy, slightly sour doughesque waffles are steaming on the plate in no time.

Try your own waffles:

1 Package active dry yeast
2 Cups Milk
1/2 Cup (1 Stick) butter, melted
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon sugar
2 Cups flour
2 Eggs
1/4 teaspoon baking soda

Place one-half cup warm water in a large mixing bowl (the batter will double in volume), and sprinkle in the yeast. When dissolved, stir in the milk, butter, salt, sugar, flour and eggs and beat until smooth and blended. Cover the bowl with plastic wrap and refrigerate overnight (HOW EASY IS THAT?)

Just before cooking the waffles, beat in the baking soda. The batter will deflate and become about as thin as soft yogurt. Cook the waffles according to the manufacturers’ instructions in your waffle maker.

(In the article they suggested cooking any leftover waffles slightly less that “done”, these you can put in the freezer and warm up later. To warm them up, I have found the best thing is to warm them up slightly, in the microwave or toaster oven, THEN toast! Yummy, Crispy waffles (so much better than the boxed stuff!)

Such joy and delight in yummy, home cooked food. . and I’ve got to get on this since I’m having a baby soon so I can create memories of great breakfasts like my mom did for us!

One thought on “Waffles

Leave a Reply

