New Age. . Kooky Chick. . .

. . or so Todd claims. If there was one thing that I really learned and internalized during my year in China it was that, the way things are done here (in the US) isn’t the only way to do things, and sometimes, other ways are better. SO, it’s worth understanding how and why we do things they way we do. I was probably more open to learning this lesson because as a child my parents did a pretty good job of teaching my brother and I (see what you think about this Will) HOW to make decisions, not WHAT decisions to make. SERIOUSLY, we had dinner time conversations about decision making “Eating Problems for Breakfast” by Tim Hansel etc.
So when it comes to having a baby, I’ve been more prone than (in Todd’s words) “the average chick” to explore the options, learn about alternatives. . and ultimately embrace an “alternative view” of birthing.(In the US anyway)
We’re going to have a baby in a birthing center, attended by mid-wives! It’s really not that crazy (I don’t think.) The US rates 42nd in the world when it comes to Mother and infant care surrounding birth, which means that there are 42 countries in the world that DO IT BETTER than the US. These are a lot of European countries (and others) which rely on more “traditional” views of birth, such as birthing is a natural process, which a woman’s body was designed to do (The Human Race existed and thrived before the advent of modern medicine) Many countries in Europe use Mid-wives commonly as a first line with OB/GYN as back-up for the RARE true medical emergency. The World Health Organization recommends that mid-wives for “normal” pregnancies be utilized by mamas-to-be in the US (and the world). For me, and my journey towards this decision what became important was the quality of care and quality of relationship between the “Medical Model of Birth” and the “Midwifery Model of Birth”. I am a HIGHLY relational person, relationship matter, (growing up in Fairfield I NEVER knew my bank account number, because the ladies at the bank hand my account number memorized. . . relationship) OB/GYN’s allocate about 7-10 minutes per appointment with a patient. They arrive in time to catch the baby, the labor process is monitored by which-ever nurses happen to be on shift (and changing shifts) during the laboring process. (There is MUCH research that indicates that during labor and birthing, women progress better, faster, smoother when “safely” surrounded by people they know and trust, in gentle (lower lit rooms) etc. environments) In the Midwife Model of Care a Mid-wife will allocate 30-90 minutes per appointment with the mother, and be with the mother THROUGH the entire laboring process. (Most OB/GYN as part of their medical training are NOT required to sit and observe a full Labor and Delivery. . hence they don’t always know what is normal, what is not, etc.) While a midwife spends her careers observing women laboring.
So, I had my last Doctor’s appointment this week, and will start seeing my midwives next week. (My Doctor was great about my decision, he said, “that’s a perfectly reasonable decision, and if you need anything or develop difficults please come back.”)
This decision is a decision for a completely NATURAL birth. . there won’t be an options for drugs, we’ll rely on the wisdom of my body (which I truly believe knows what to do) and the experience and expertise of the midwives who have been doing this for years.
The birth center is 8 minutes from a hospital and operating room, in the HIGHLY unlikely case that something goes wrong we are in essences no farther from medical help than we would be if we labored in the hospital. (Even in a hospital when something happens, it take 10-20 minutes to prepare an operating room) Our midwives would be in contact with the hospital from the minute the decision is made to transport, so basically no time is lost.
I could go ON and ON about all that I’ve learned from this journey. Todd has been wonderful to support me. . this is so far outside of his world view, but he is willing to support this decision, is starting to understand why, and I’ve heard from many people that daddy’s become the biggest advocates of all for midwifery care when they experience the birth (and even catching their babies).
So, that’s my story.
When I ran the LA Marathon I remember someone saying, the two most physically difficult things a women can do are run a marathon and give birth. I’ve done one, now it’s time to apply the marathon lessons that I learned to birthing, (which God MADE women to do) (I’m not so sure He really made us to run 26.2 miles)

Leave a Reply

