I never thought of it THAT way before. . .

I’m back in my “Oswald” phase. Oswald Chambers that is. He was a Christian Preacher in the late 1800’s in England. His wife recorded all of his sermons (in short-hand), and after his death they were turned into a daily reading called “My Utmost for His Highest.” My “utmost” has been a faithful friend for close to ten year. Carrie introduced me to Oswald in China. . and as soon as I got back, I got my own.
June 30th. . really got me thinking. . . What do you think about the first few lines of June 30th. . “Disillusionment means having no more misconception, false impressions, and false judgements in life; it mean being free from these deceptions. However, though no longer deceived, our experience of disillusionment may actually leave us cynical and overly critical in our judgement of others. . ”

We seem to talk about Disillusionment as a “bad” thing. And all of a sudden last Monday I saw it as something totally different, as a GOOD thing. Something that is difficult, and not easy, but necessary none-the-less. WOW!

Get this, he goes on to say, “Many of the things in life that inflict the greatest injury, grief, or pain stem from the fact that we suffer from illusions.” (What are your illusions? That’s something to think on!)
“We are not true to one another as facts, seeing each other as we really are; we are only true to our misconceived ideas of one another.”
Whoa. . . think on that for a while. . . I hope it disturbs you as much as it’s disturbed me (and not in a bad way, but in challenging myself to BE Disillusioned. .

(If you have a “My Utmost for His Highest Laying around. . check out the entire text on June 30th) Powerful stuff!

One thought on “I never thought of it THAT way before. . .

  1. I LOVE IT!!!! That “disillusionment” thought hit me a year or so ago. I’m strongly pro-disillusionment. We should talk on this more!

Leave a Reply

