A Thousand Splendid Suns. .

Last night I finished “A Thousand Splendid Suns” by Khaled Hosseini, the same author of The Kite Runner. I love a book that engages me, challenges me, and moves me. It was the kind of book that I found myself praying for the characters. . . I KNOW the characters are fiction, yet the story is a story that I’m sure, while the details may be different, IS the story of women throughout Afghanistan.
Afghanistan, Iran, Pakistan that entire part of the world is so far removed from anything I understand or have experienced. I feel like through this one book of fiction, and my NEXT book “Kabul Beauty School” help open just a sliver of a mysterious, somewhat scary, very foreign world.
A Thousand Splendid Suns was the story of two Afghan women, one of them two years younger than I am. . it traces her life in Kabul growing up, as a teenager, through civil war, the Taliban. . While a fictional story, it’s based in historical fact (She and her husband watch 9/11 happen on television, just like I did)I finished the book so THANKFUL for my life, for the country in which I live, for the freedom I have as a woman, for my education, for my husband, for safety and security. . .
If you have a chance, or want to borrow my copy, read A Thousand Splendid Suns. . . and today my prayers are with the women, the young girls, wives and mothers of Afghanistan, Pakistan, Iran, Iraq. . .While I know NO faces, I’ve shared no meals or experiences, I LOVE the fact that God is answering my prayers, that he knows what women I pray for, which women need the grace of God (or Allah) to fall on them today.

Leave a Reply

