Very Polite

According to Oprah, (and Oprah IS a reliable source) there are like five women in America who haven’t read, “Eat, Pray, Love: One Women’s search for everything across Italy, India and Indonesia” by Elizabeth Gilbert. I was one, so now, there are only four left. Anyway, I have to say, it’s a great book, about a 30 something women’s “life crisis”. Liz (I can call her that, we’re friends now, because I’m reading her book) spends a year traveling to learn about herself and capture the year in a wonderfully written memoir. (If you are one of the remaining four, it’s a delightful book, she’s a wonderful writer…)

But, I should back up, GUESS WHAT? I’ve discovered that I can read paperback novels and nurse at the same time. . It’s wonderful. Prior to discovering my agility at balancing a bobby (a nursing must have, a half donut shaped pillow), baby (another MUST HAVE for nursing), nursing bra, (tricky little contraptions), burping cloth, AND paperback book, I had watched three entire seasons of “Project Runway” (Bravo did a weekend long marathon. . . any questions on fashion, I’m your gal!)and watched Paula Dean cook EVERYTHING imaginable in butter and bacon grease (“I just love the flavor of butter and bacon grease ya’ll!) Reading is a much better way to go!

After all that, I’m FINALLY at my point. . .Liz befriend an Italian man who was her Italian language coach. Over some amazing dish of pasta, or pistachio gelato he said to her, “Liz, you must be very polite with yourself when you are learning something new.”. . . My new mantra for this “new” something in my life. . . “Amy, you must be very polite with yourself when you are learning to. . get up every hour to nurse a hungry little boy, you must be very polite with yourself when you are being peed on, (and pooped on) by a little boy. . you must be very polite with yourself when you agree to let the ladies from church bring meals for a week or two. . . So many new things to learn. . basically everything in my life is being re-learned right now, how to take a shower, put on my make-up, go to the store, fix a sandwich, do the laundry and type this blog. For some reason those words just resonated with me. . so as I muddle through my days, learning everything new, I’m being polite to myself. . and I have to say, it’s working out good so far.

One thought on “Very Polite

Leave a Reply

