Sappy Mommy Entry. . .

Several months ago, in some context, I’m not quite sure what, someone said something (okay, how’s that for descriptive. .someone said something. . . Let me elaborate a bit more, shall I?!)

I think it was at church at a baby dedication and the parents read “life verses” for their children. I loved the concept and started thinking and praying that God would show us a “life verse” to claim and teach little Reid. A few mornings ago, as I was singing through EVERY song I could think of I sang, “He has shown you, oh man, what is good and what the Lord requires of you, but to do justice, and to love mercy and to walk humbly with our God”. . It’s from Micah (not Palpant, although I see these traits in Micah Palpant. . but from the book in the bible Micah. . I’m a new mom, so I get a pass on quoting the exact location, for now, right?) Anyway, that was about the last song I knew the words to, and Reid was calm by then too. . so I picked up my “Daily Light” and daily collection of Scriptures. . . This was the first time I had read any thing from the bible to Reid (I figure reading anything to him is a good thing, I like to think that he is starting to enjoy the very hungry catapillar. . probably not as much as I love reading it to him, but that’s an entirely different story. . back to reading the bible. . the Scripture to start the day. . Micah 6:8 (I picked up the Daily Light. . .so now I know the “call numbers”, if you will)”

He has show you, O Man, what is good; and what does the Lord require of you but to do justly, to love mercy and to walk humbly with your God. . .

I think I have MY life verse for little Reid. . I sing and pray it for him every day now, I can’t really think of anything better, DO justly, LOVE mercy and WALK humbly with God. . .I bought two frames, one to put this verse in and the other to frame the most wonderful card that my dad and brother sent us from their trip back to Idaho after Reid’s “debut”. . The card said:

“The first time
his laughter unfurled
its wings in the wind,
we knew the world
would never be the same

Okay, that’s the sappy mommy part. . I’ll write about as a friend called them (and a BRILLIANT naming at that, “Pooptasterphies” tomorrow. . . or not!

One thought on “Sappy Mommy Entry. . .

  1. Hey Amy, that is the verse Micah’s parents had in mind when they named him over 29 years ago. That is a great life verse. Maybe they do have more in common than one would think, kind of scary, huh?

Leave a Reply

