This OR That


People say that we have the same eyes. . .

Each day I think of about five different things I could write about on this blog, getting around to writing them, well, that is a bit trickier!

I could write about. . .

The pile of books that I have to read. I hardly know where to start, I ordered three from the library, and three from Amazon, and they all came in on Thursday. . .

From the library:
Anny Freeman’s Fabulous Traveling Funeral by Kris Radish
The Know-it-all by A.J. Jacobs
The year of living biblically by A.J. Jacobs (This is what I’m reading right now, it’s SOOOO great. A.J. decides to follow the bible as literally as he can. He is a self-proclaimed agnostic with no “religious” training at all. It is hilarious, insightful, and informative. . did you know that there is a rule in the bible about not wearing mixed fibers? There are actually Rabbis who will check people’s wardrobes to make sure they have not mixed clothing, intentional, or unintentionally. . .WHO KNEW?

From Amazon:
Everybody’s Guide to Homeopathic Medicines by Stephen Cummings M.D. and Dan Ullman
When Life and Beliefs Collide: How Knowing God Makes a Difference by Carolyn Custic James
The Blessing by John Trent and Gary Smalley

OR, I could write about yesterday morning when I was holding Reid while he was in that not quite awake, not quite asleep phase and he pulled his thumb out of his mouth and held is right up to my mouth and in my mind I could here a little voice say, “Here mom, you want to try it for a while, it’s really good”

OR, I could write about my answer to the most common question I am asked these days, “What has been the biggest adjustment, or most surprising thing about becoming a parent?” It has been learning to trust my instincts. At first I wasn’t really sure how to answer the question, because I’ve gotten use to waking up several times a night and it’s not that big of a deal and while it takes some planning to go anywhere, it’s really nothing that can’t be handled. What is the biggest adjustment is the momentary panic comes when I hear one parenting expert say, ‘You should always do this. .” and it resonates with me, and the next day I hear another parenting expert say, “You should NEVER do this”. . and I panic, but yesterday someone said I should and it felt right to me, and you’re saying that it’s wrong?” My “Ah-Ha” moment came in this regards when I stopped panicking and thought about it. . thoughtfully (or I thought it was a thoughtful thought) I realized that NO ONE in the world knows my little guy better than I do, so really I am the expert when it comes to raising my little one. So my job is to filter all of the experts advice and see what MY expert thinks (IE: ME) and feels is appropriate for my little guy. What relief.

OR I could write, along the same lines as above, why is it that most of the “Parenting Experts” I run across are men? I am all for men, but it is curious that in most cases (not all) women are the ones who stay home and raise children, but men are the ones writing the books and hosting the radio programs on raising children???

OR I could write about how blessed I was earlier this week when a homeless lady who attends the women’s bible study I go to and sits at my table this week prayed for me, and what a beautiful blessing it was, because of the faith and simplicity of her prayer, because she is (to be honest) quite challenging in our group because of her “victim mentality” that permeates every comment, and how beautiful it was to see that all stripped away in prayer. .

OR I could post picture about how our organization is going. . .

OR. . . I could stop now.

Leave a Reply

