yummy. .

I found this recipe in a magazine called: Clean Eating.

It’s really yummy (Todd even liked it, and he’s not one for many baked good (sadly), or sweets (he says he is “sweet enough as it is). .)

Breakfast Fruit and Nut Cookies (as a yummy alternative to muffins)

1/2 C brown sugar
1/4 C oil
3 egg whites (I used 2 egg whites and one whole egg. . why, because the yolk of the third egg fell into my batter. LOL)
1/4 C. finely chopped dates (the orginal recipie called for figs. . I had dates on hand. . they add a nice sweetness)
1/4 C. dried cranberries (I have some good golden raisins that I’ll add next time)
1 tsp vanilla (I have been using vanilla “paste” from Trader Joes. . it’s really great and add a really nice flavor and color with actual vanilla bean ‘flakes’)
1 C flour
1/2 C whole-wheat flour (I have in my flour jar a mixture of finely ground whole wheat flour with a littl all-purpose white flour mixed in.. I’m finding that a really good quality (like King Arthurs) Whole-wheat flour works in everything and adds great texture and nutriets. I used 1 1/2 cup of that mixture)
1/2 C. Bran-Flakes (I used All-Bran, because it was what I had, I didn’t soak it or anything, added great texture to the cookies)
2 Tbsp ground flax seed (This is a great ingredient, full of omega 3 fatty acids and easy to add to ANYTHING)
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp. allspice (I added giner instead, because I didn’t have any all-spice, and I really like ginger)
1/4 C sliverd almonds

Preheat oven to 350.

Combine sugar, oil, egg whites in a large mixing bowl. Stir in chopped dried fruits and vanilla.

Combine flour, bran, baking soda, flax seed and spices. . mix.

Add flour mixture to wet ingredients, stir until just combines. Add almonds

Drop by tablespoon onto lined baking sheet (I used parchment paper) Bake 12 minutes.

YUMMY. Next time I might add some more nuts and dried fruit, just to mix it up, they were really great, not too sweet, a good morning, noon, or evening snack. 🙂

clearly, i’m not one that is bound by convention when it comes to recipies. . . that’s what makes it fun though.

Enjoy!

One thought on “yummy. .

Leave a Reply

