What I Love about California. . .

Yesterday I had a “I LIVE in Southern California” minute. They come much less often than they use to. It still just doesn’t seem possible that a SMALLLLLLL town girl from Idaho ended up in Southern Cali. . . It hit early in the morning when I was savoring my ONE cup of coffee with carob rice milk (why, carob. . because it was on sale. . why rice milk. . because I think Reid might be allergic to soy . . . and rice milk sounded fun) and trying HARD to wake up. I’ve had a cold the past few days, and of course Reid’s been off his schedule at night. . anyway, there was an advertisment for the local news on “Why We Love California”. . and I watched the scences from Santa Monica, downtown LA, Hollywood, Chinatown. . all places I’ve been, I know how to get to on the freeway without really thinking (and I even know where to park!) and it hit me. . I LIVE here!

However it took a few hours for the point to really be driven home. Reid and I are flying to Idaho on Sunday afternoon for a week. (We’ve got lots of people to meet. . Great Auntie A in particular!)I wanted to send a few things that we’ll need in Idaho ahead. Mainly just a couple of blankets, I’ve got quite a stash here, and I figured we could use them there and they will probably find a home there too! So there I was, a bit woozy with a head cold, standing in line with a bag of blankets and Reid cozy in his Ergo Carrier on my chest. I didn’t have a box at home, so I had to get one at the Post Office. But of course I didn’t have TAPE to shut the box, so I had to wait in the long line, find out the boxes were free (who knew that?!), get a roll of tape from the nice lady, then step aside to pack my box. All was going well until I dropped the roll of tape. . I COULD have picked it up, but it was all getting a bit crazy. . when my guardian angel walked up. . and older Indian man. . “Dear, let me help you”. . (with a strong Indian accent). . My Indian angel knelt down on the floor, taped my box up, packed my blankets, taped it shut. . using lots of tape (we want it to be secure dear!) and sent me on my way.

As I left the Post Office, my box of blankets safely on their way to Idaho, I walked out into a clear, sunny, high 70’s day and thought. . That’s why I love California. . . the rich fabric of PEOPLE who live here…

And “thank you Lord for all my post office angels!” (When I lived in China, I really believe God sent me a Post Office angel. The Post Office was probably the most difficult outing I had to make in any given week, and on more than one occassion, when I was completely confounded and frustrated in the Post Office and older Chinese woman who spoke perfect English would appear at my side and say, “Amy, what do you need?”. . . . Post Office Angels!

One thought on “What I Love about California. . .

  1. GREAT AUNTIE A CAN HARDLY WAIT TO MEET YOUR LITTLE PUNKIN’ PIE!

    …COUNTING THE DAYS…

    P.S. YOUR “BLANKET BOX” ARRIVED YESTERDAY! I FELT LIKE REID WAS IN THE HOUSE ‘CAUSE I SPREAD THEM ALL OVER…BLUE BABY BLANKETS….OOHHHHHHH!

    …SMOOCHIES….
    GREAT AUNTIE A

Leave a Reply

