yummy. . .

I’ve decieded to “sneak” a few vegetarian dinners into our diet each week. (I’m not really “sneaking”, I told Todd. . did you really think I could keep a secret?!)
I’m reading an interesting book (In Defense of Food by Michael Pollan) which is confirming my inspirtation. Don’t worry, I’m not going to go all “veggie”. . I am a firm believer in “moderation in all things”. . .more on that later.. . for now, I want to share our YUMMMMMMY dinner. . . we had it tonight, and I think the left-overs tomorrow are going to be EVEN BETTER (That’s what I’ve found with another veggie dish from Monday. . .)

BLACK BEAN, CORN & ZUCCHINI ENCHILADAS

Enchilada Sauce
* You can prepare this in advance. I made it this morning, but the recipie suggests up to several days before you plan to make these YUMMMMMMY delights.

1 tsp canola oil
1/2 C. diced red onion
1 tsp. minced garlic (you know they sell this in a jar at TJ’s!)
1/2 C. Organic Vegetable Broth
1 tablespoon chili powder
1 tablespoon honey
1 tsp. ground cumin
1/2 tsp salt
1 (28 oz) can crushed tomatoes, undrained.

Heat oil in large saucepan over medium heat. Add onion and garlic; saute 5 minutes or until onion is tender. Stir in broth and remaining ingredients. Reduce heat, and simmer 30 minutes.

THE ENCHILADAS!
1 tsp. canola oil
2 C. diced zucchini
1 (10 oz) package frozen, whole-kernel corn
1 (15 oz) can black beans, rinsed and drained.
8 whole-wheat tortillas
2 C. shredded cheese.

1. Preheat oven to 350.
2. Heat oil in large skillet over med-high heat. Add zucchini and corn, saute for 5 minutes or until vegetables are tender. Remove from heat and stir in beans.
3. Spread 1 C. of the enchilada sauce in the bottom of a 9×13 pan.
4. Spoon about 1/2 C of the vegetable mixure down the center of a tortilla, sprinkle with a bit of cheese, roll and place seam side down in pan. Repeat with the remaining 7 tortillas.
5. Cover evenly with the remaining 2 C of enchilada sauce.
6. Cover the pan with foil and bake for 30 minutes. Uncover and top with 1 C. of Cheese and bake for another 10 minutes or until cheese metls.

(8 servings: 348 Calories per serving 🙂 THANKS Cooking Light!

The best part about cooking vegetarian. . you don’t have to deal with raw meat!! (and the clean up seems to be easier!)

One thought on “yummy. . .

  1. Okay, these are totally going on the menu for next week. YUM-O!

    I would absolutely be vegetarian if the hubs weren’t such a meat fan. I also *hate* dealing raw meat. YUCK. But, I am also way too lazy ahem busy to figure out a way to cook vegetarian for myself and keep serving meat for him. Someday, maybe, when the girls are older.

    Anyway, I digress. Thanks for the recipe! And I added you to my blogroll (apologies that you weren’t added sooner!).

Leave a Reply

