knowledge is power. . . or something like that


Over the past month my little sweetie-pie has gone from being a pretty good little sleeper. . to a not-so-good-little-sleeper. I knew something needed to change when I could barely pull myself out of bed this weekend, and neither Todd nor I could accurately recall the number of times that I’d been up with Reid.

For me any of the cry-it-out options, weren’t options. The few times that I have been tempted to try it, (and I haven’t) I’ve found him stuck in some funky position (on his stomach, which his feet through the crib slats)which he was truly unable to fix on his own, or soaking wet, (another thing he is unable (for the time being) to fix on his own). I feel like when he’s crying there is a reason, and it’s my job to help him try and fix it. (And needing a cuddle or reassurance in the middle of the night is still a valid reason for getting my attention. . )SO I was left with trying to figure out how to solve this night-waking problem. I changed the way I diapered him (which helped) I decieded that wet diapers were NOT a reason we needed to be waking up. (Our Bum Genuius Cloth Diaper with THREE inserts have done the trick)

After some reasearch I discovered a book, that according to the reviews on Amazon sounded like it would be in alignment with how I want to try and solve this sleep problem. The book is called: The No-Cry Sleep Solution by Elizabeth Pantley. I found it yesterday at our local book store and by the end of the forward I KNEW it was the right book for me. . I got a couple chapters read yesterday afternoon, the authors story and an overview of infant sleep patterns (so I didn’t even get to the meat of the book). BUT I did know that I had knowledge, or the opportunity to gain knowledge at my finger tips.

So, I put Reid to bed last night, the only thing that changed was my attitude I felt like there was hope out there, I knew I didn’t have it yet (last night), but I knew that it was out there.

I’m not sure if the book has some magical power and just being in my house unleashed it (highly unlikely)
OR If my attitude and HOPE changed, and therefore something in Reid changed (more likely) BUT Reid had the BEST night sleep he’s EVER had in his whole life! I put him to bed at 7:00, he woke up at 12:57 I fed him for 20 minutes when the alarm went off at 5:00 (Todd was going to the gym to work-out) I heard Reid just slightly stir, I got him (still asleep) feed him and he slept until 7:00 (that’s 12 hours, with 2 feedings. . but one was forced upon him by me!)

As I thought about it this morning, I felt like, Knowledge is Power. . My “energy” changed as I put him to bed last night, I wasn’t edgy or nervous wondering “how long is he going to sleep”. . I felt like, “I don’t know what to do today, but I know that tomorrow or the next day I’m going to have more ideas.. .” There was light at the end of the tunnel.

So, who knows what tonight will be like, but I have hope and I’ve got to get reading.

2 thoughts on “knowledge is power. . . or something like that

  1. Oh, I LOVE NCSS! I am so glad you found it. Her gentle, peaceful, hope-filled approach really speaks to me. And YAY for some good sleep.

    Precious pic, too!

  2. Hi! Thanks for the comment on my blog. I really appreciate the encouragement! 🙂

    I didn’t discover NCSS until my daughter was out of the infant stage, but I used the NCSS for Toddlers book for some of her sleep issues during her second year and the methods worked wonders for us! I hope you have continued success in the nighttime hours. Sleep makes such a difference, I know!

Leave a Reply

