We Got Rhythm

I was walking with a friend and her daughter last week and she asked about our “schedule”. Actually it’s a common question. “What is best with your schedule?” “What is Reid’s schedule.” Etc. etc.

The Meyers-Brigg “P” in me wrestles with that question. Because the truth of the matter is the word schedule just doesn’t seem to fit the life we live. Schedule (to me) seems like a set order of things, at a set time.

sched·ule – / [skej-ool, -oo l, -oo-uh l; Pronunciation noun, verb, -uled,
-ul·ing.
–noun
1. a plan of procedure, usually written, for a proposed
objective, esp. with reference to the sequence of and time allotted for each
item or operation necessary to its completion: The schedule allows three weeks
for this stage.

2. a series of things to be done or of events to
occur at or during a particular time or period: He always has a full schedule.

3. a timetable.

Okay, away from dictionary.com and back to schedule. After hemming and hawing about “Well, you know, we sort of. . .” she laughed (she knows me well) and said, “You know the good thing about a schedule, is you have a schedule, and the bad thing about a schedule, is. . you have a schedule.”

Later that day as I nursed Reid I went a little way down the road of feeling guilty that I don’t have more of a schedule, and then decided that I wasn’t in the mood for that and embraced how our lives work out. Just a few minutes later (after deciding I wasn’t going on a guilt trip) it hit me. . . WE’VE GOT RHYTHM!

I can predict the daily Rhythm of our lives, but there isn’t “nap time” “playtime” “eat time” “naptime” “dinner time” “bed time” (emphasis on time). We get up, we play, we go for a walk, we play, we eat, we nap, we play, we eat, we take a bath, we go to bed. Our Rhythm is based on the Rhythm of Reid’s body. When he’s sleepy (and it’s a good time) I put him down for a nap, when he’s ready to play we play or he plays by himself. A few weeks ago I spent several agonizing evenings trying to get Reid to go to bed at 7:30, the time the books and I thought was good. The thing was, it was a fight. As I sat there trying everything in my power to get him to sleep I thought back to earlier in the day when I laid him in his crib without a fight, with out a sound and he rolled over and went to sleep. I thought “What made that different?” It was that he was sleepy.

So now when people say, ‘What works for Reid’s schedule”.. I say “Our rhythm is. .”
It’s just semantics, but it works for me!

One thought on “We Got Rhythm

Leave a Reply

