fresh bread

Mom asked me if I was still blogging.  “Sort of”.  It’s so hard to find the time in my life right now.  I have a little guy who loves to be outside or otherwise completely active.   . . So, keep checking, some days (like today) you might find something new!

img_3222

I discovered the best, best, best cookbook several weeks ago.  Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day.  I was so excited about the book and all the amazon reviews I read, I ordered it.  (My library had a waiting list of 27 people, I couldn’t wait until 2011!!)  All who’ve tried the bread are glad I didn’t wait to buy the book.   

It’s the easiest, and best tasting & texture bread that I’ve ever made. . . 

 

The dough after 2 hours. .

The dough after 2 hours. .

 

rising. . .

rising. . .

My first loaf. .

My first loaf. .

I haven’t bought a loaf of bread from the store since I bought the book.  I’ve made white and whole-wheat, free-form “artisan” bread, and using a loaf pan.  It’s yummy.  The best part is that one batch is good for three loaves of bread, and the longer it sits in the fridge, the better it gets.  I have a loaf that is going in the oven in a few minutes, it’s week old dough, and the sour-dough, airy texture is going to make a great dinner.  I even used the bread as “rolls” for french-dip sandwiches (that was a yummy dinner!) 

If you are looking for a healthy, slightly obsessive new hobby. . I highly recommend getting the book!!

One thought on “fresh bread

  1. Awww….I LOVE the new pix of shoveler boy and I also love the bread!!! Don’t mean to add pressure to your life but…..I do love a new photo ;o) xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

