Mothers Day 2009

picture this. .. we deiced to go for a hike, and enjoy the amazing trails that are literally just out our back door.  Amy, Todd, Reid and Denali (the dog) off for a nice spring hike.  

I should tell you a bit about Denali.  She is a good dog, great spirit.  She is a bit, um, shall we say “high spirited on a leash”. . . she loves to run outside and she just can’t be bothered by a leash.  We set out from the house.  Todd had Reid on his back, and I was “walking” (I use the term loosely) Denali.  I was trying my very BEST Dog Whisper dog walking technique. . . “I  am the pack leader” “Calm Assertive Energy” I reminded myself. . . it just wasn’t working and before we got too far Denali and I needed a break from each other.  OH, I should tell you about the leash.  Since Denali is such a challenging dog to walk we have almost every variety of leash available.  Today I was using the red one, which clips around my waste, with a elastic leash that clips onto Denali’s leash.  The idea is my body weight helps keep the dog in control (yeah, right.

So when Denali and I reached our breaking point, Todd grabbed  a short section of leash and “walked” Denali with that.  She works better with him, and really better with a shorter leash.  Since we were going to let her off the leash she stayed clipped to me, while Todd managed her. . SO PICTURE WHAT OUR NEIGHBORS SAW. .  “Did you see that?  That man had his wife on a leash!”

Happy Mothers Day!!

 

(Oh, I should say, we really did have a great hike.  Once Denali was off the leash we were all much happier.  Reid got to throw rocks in the creek, and turns out he is quite the hiker!)

2 thoughts on “Mothers Day 2009

  1. So next time you and Todd could just change places on Denali’s leash ……. might as well really give the neighbors something to talk about and really confuse them ;o)

    Travel safely……xoxooxxo nana

Leave a Reply

